Missouri drivers and vehicle owners are required by state law to have vehicle liability insurance as to ensure that they have acquired financial responsibility to pay for possible injuries and property damages that their vehicles may cause.
Vehicle liability insurance is basically consist of Bodily Injury and Property damage. However, Missouri insurance laws require that Uninsured Motorist (UM) shall be included in the liability insurance. Bodily injury will provide coverage to injuries or death suffered by persons other than the policyholder, while property damage will cover to the cost of damages to other persons’ vehicle, and other properties such as road signs, fences, walls, houses, and any other structures. Uninsured Motorist will provide cover for the policyholder’s injuries and those of his passengers if the other party involved in the accident is uninsured, or if the incident will be a hit-and-run.
Minimum vehicle liability insurance requirements in Missouri are the following:
• Bodily Injury Liability – $25,000 per person, $50,000 total per accident
(These bodily injury limits also applies to Uninsured Motorist)
• Property Damage Liability – $10,000 per accident
These amounts serve as the limits that the insurer will pay for the injuries and damages you are held liable for.
Purchasing minimum liability coverage may have a downside in the event that the costs of injuries or property damages your vehicle may cause will exceed the limits. When this happen, you as the policyholder will be oblige to pay for the excess. As most insurers will do, you will be advised to purchase vehicle liability insurance with higher limits for better protection.