West Virginia is the 8th U.S. State InsureDirect.com entered in 2007. West Virginia is a very interesting state. Like rural Pennsylvania, West Virginia in made up of small towns where there may be only one or two small auto insurance Agencies. These Insurance Agents may only represent one or two car insurance companies. Since West Virginia, is a statutory auto insurance state, this may make it difficult for drivers in these small towns to gain access to a large choice of car insurers.
InsureDirect.com is the largest “small-town” agency” on the World Wide Web. Since we started 20 years ago as a small Main Street Insurance Agency, we have not forgotten how to offer small-town customer service. When you call InsureDirect, you will feel at home. If you buy your insurance from us; you will get to know our staff just like your home-town insurance agent. When you call you will think your sitting in a chair across the desk from us in our Office in Lansdale, Pennsylvania.
So back to your first point Mike; what do you mean Statutory Auto Insurance State? Well; West Virgina like most states in our country require all state residents whom register a car in the State of West Virginia must maintain a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage. Bottom line; if you want to drive, you need to pay for auto insurance.
It’s an important distinction to understand the car you own and drive is insured and not the driver. Many people think if they borrow a relative’s or neighbor car, the auto insurance coverage you pay for will cover that car. If you do borrow a car, it’s your responsibility to make sure the owner is maintaining at the very least the state minimum before you get behind the wheel. If you find yourself involved in an auto accident and the vehicle is not insured, both the owner add you as the driver are responsible for any property damage or bodily injury. If the accident is serious, you could find yourself filing for bankruptcy or having you wages garnished to compensate the injured party.
If you are involved in an at fault accident and fail to provide proof of auto insurance coverage to the police on the scene, your driver’s license and vehicle registration could be suspended for 30 days or more depending on how many times you failed to buy auto insurance or allowed your auto insurance policy to cancel. The typical second offense is 3 months and a 4th is a full year plus major fine. Reinstating your license in West Virginia will cost you $100 plus a $50 reinstatement fee.
So Mike; what is West Virginia’s State Minimum Liability Limits Coverage Amount?
This coverage includes Bodily Injury amounts per person, per accident, and property damage amounts.
$20,000 for one injury or death per accident,
$40,000 for two injuries or death per accident,
$10,000 for property damages