Licensed Drivers in the State of Illinois can always count on With one call, an agent will evaluate your specific driving situation and provide you and your family with the best choice of auto insurance carriers in the state.

Regardless if your record is perfect or you have accidents, tickets, or violations, there is no situation which can’t find you the best premium for your specific circumstances.

Illinois Insurance Information:

Illinois State Flag
Illinois State Flag

Illinois has a statutory requirement for its owners of registered vehicles to maintain a minimum amount of Auto Insurance.

The following will outline exactly the State Minimum limits required to drive legally in the State of IIIinois.

Keep in mind the limits below are the bare minimum required by the State. If you own a home or you lease you car, you will need to increase these limits to either protect your assets or due to the requirements of your lease agreement.

Liability Coverage: Will pay the bodily injury for another person or Property Damage when you negligently operate a motor vehicle.

Liability Coverage also pays for the same if an at fault accident is determined to be the fault of a family member or a driver living with you and was using your vehicle with your permission. Liability coverage will pay any legal fees in conjunction with your defense when a legal action is brought against you for an accident which is your fault.

Bodily Injury (BI): Will pay for the costs associated with injury or death to both a pedestrian(s) or individual(s) in another vehicle. Bodily Injury may cover the passengers in your car or truck for the costs of injury when they aren’t members of your household.

Illinois law requires Bodily Injury limits of $20,000 per person per accident and $40,000 total per accident.

Property Damage (PD): Will pay for the cost of damage to a vehicle belonging to the other driver or drivers. It also pays for another person’s property like utility poles, and trees.

Illinois law requires Property Damage liability limits of at least $15,000 per accident.

Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage (UM): Will cover you for your bodily injury caused by a hit-and-run driver or an at-fault driver who has no auto liability insurance.

Illinois law requires uninsured motorist limits of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.

Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance (UIM): Pays the difference between your UIM limits and the liability limits of the at-fault driver, if lower than your UIM limits.

If you have any questions regarding the State Minimum Limits in IIIinois, the cost of a State Minimum Policy or higher limits to meet your needs, call (888) 505-0286.